Professional Guide For Conferences in Greece

Cyclades - A cycle in paradise


"In Paradise, I've marked an island that looks like you, and a house nearby the sea, with a big bed and a small door; I've thrown an echo into the depths of the sea to look at myself every morning I wake upů"

Odysseas Elytis

The Cyclades Islands cluster is a group of islands (both inhabited and vacant) situated in the deep blue Aegean Sea southeast of mainland Greece. The name was originally used to indicate those islands that formed a rough circle around the sacred island of Delos. They are one of the island groups which constitute the Aegean archipelago. The Cyclades comprise about 220 islands, the major ones being Amorgos, Anafi, Andros, Antiparos, Delos, Folegandros, Ios, Kea, Kimolos, Kythnos, Milos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Santorini (Thira), Serifos, Sikinos, Sifnos, the small Eastern Cyclades Islands of Donousa, Irakleia, Koufonisia and Schinousa, Syros and Tinos. The Cyclades is an administrative prefecture of Greece and Ermoupolis, on the island of Siros is the chief town and administrative center of the prefecture.

The Cyclades group of islands is considered one of the finest vacation destinations worldwide, providing visitors with a wide range of diverse characteristics. All Cycladic Islands share some distinctive features, such as the renowned Cycladic architecture with the whitewashed houses, narrow cobblestone alleyways, fascinating archaeological, historical, religious and natural sights, quaint seaside or mountain villages and endless beaches. Each island though has several specific characteristics that make it stand out from the rest, making the islands absolutely unique, each in its own way. The islands are peaks of a submerged mountainous terrain, with the exception of the two volcanic islands, Milos and Santorini. The climate of the Cyclades Islands is mild, "an endless summer, as if until now he gilds them" in the words of Lord Byron.



Cyclades - Weather